Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
B83
New Contributor

free vpn client certificate problems

Hi, I'm new to Fortigate and this week got my WF-81F-2R-A and it works great, using SSL VPN perfectly on the free FortiClient VPN on Linux. For added security I created a certificate inside my Fortigate with 'LetsEncrypt' and put it in my Fortigate's VPN Settings with no problem.

Then I tried to put that certificate in the free FortiClient, and no matter what I can't see the certificates to load. Am I doing something wrong or is the software intentionally misbehaving without courtesy of an error or warning message?

I looked all day online for an explanation or guide. All I ever see is "press the Import Certificate button to import a certificate" kinda stuff.

Thanks for any assistance,

B83

1 Solution
ozkanaltas
Contributor III

If you want to change the default ssl-vpn certificate. You just need to change the Fortigate side.  You said, you already did this with LetsEncrypt. 

The certificate selection area in FortiClient is for authentication with a certificate. Because of that, these things are different. 

You don't need to do anything on the FortiClient side. 

https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/6.2.16/cookbook/718606/provision-a-trusted-certificate-...

If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible to others.
NSE 4-5-6-7 OT Sec - ENT FW

View solution in original post

If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible to others.NSE 4-5-6-7 OT Sec - ENT FW
6 REPLIES 6
ozkanaltas
Contributor III

Hello @B83 ,

Don't need to import the letsencrypt certificate to your client's PC. 

If you try to connect with compatible fqdn with your ssl-certificate. FortiClient will not give a warning. 

How is your client configuration? Are you connecting via IP or fqdn?