Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
lynxz211
New Contributor

connecting 2 different LANs through the same WAN1

Please help, I have a situation I can not seem to understand how to get around it. I am very new to firewalls let alone fortigate.  I am able to route to internet through LAN2 ip 10.20.10.0/24. I need to set up another LAN4 ip 10.30.30.1/24 to route to the internet through the same WAN1

5 REPLIES 5
Dave_Hall
Honored Contributor

More information is needed.  What Fortigate model and firmware is running on it.

Is LAN2 also the name of the interface (that is assigned 10.20.10.0/24)?  Likewise is LAN4 the name of the interface (that is assigned 10.30.30.0/24)?

Are you using routing policies or do you actual have firewall policy rules in place directed from LAN2 -> WAN1?  If firewall policy rules then all you may need to do is create policy rules from LAN4 to WAN1.

NSE4/FMG-VM64/FortiAnalyzer-VM/6.0 (FWF30E/FW92D/FGT200D/FGT101E/FGT81E)/ FAP220B/221C

NSE4/FMG-VM64/FortiAnalyzer-VM/6.0 (FWF30E/FW92D/FGT200D/FGT101E/FGT81E)/ FAP220B/221C
lynxz211

Fortigate 81E, Firmware v6.0.9 build0335 (GA), LAN2 is my interface to a router, I have configured a static route from that interface to wan1 and it works fine.  LAN4 is has been configure with an IP which belongs to a cisco switch and I can not seem to get access to the internet. both LAN2 and LAN 4 have different names.  I have a firewall policy directing from LAN2 to WAN1.  Yes I have the firewall policy rule from lan4 to WAN1. I can ping 8.8.8.8 from a PC connected to the switch but still no internet from the switch. I can not ping www.google.com, or ping any of the other PC on the router.

Thank you very much for you help.

ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III