Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Not applicable

Will all settings be lost when upgrading to MR5 or MR6?

Hello everybody, I' m currently using MR4 on my Fortigate 200 appliance, today I wanted to upgrade to MR6 but after uploading the image I got the message that all settings will be returned in default mode. Does this mean that ALL my settings are lost? I use https to remotely manage the Fortigate, am I still able to login on HTTPS after upgrading? And will my administrator account continue to work? I don’t mind configuring the F200 again after upgrading but I just want to know if I can do this remotely. Anybody any experience? Thanks for your help. Kind regards, Koen Klomp
3 REPLIES 3
UkWizard
New Contributor

If i remember correctly, this was a false message that you can ignore. But dont takle my word for it, check the release notes for the versions you are going from and to. I remember one version has this bug, and it could be safely ignored.
UK Based Technical Consultant FCSE v2.5 FCSE v2.8 FCNSP v3 Specialising in Systems, Apps, SAN Storage and Networks, with over 25 Yrs IT experience.
UK Based Technical Consultant FCSE v2.5 FCSE v2.8 FCNSP v3 Specialising in Systems, Apps, SAN Storage and Networks, with over 25 Yrs IT experience.
Alex_Libenson
New Contributor

Ukwizard is absolutely right, RTFM! 2.2 Special Notices • Configuration Reset Message During Upgrade in WebUI When upgrading from a pre-MR5 release to MR6 from the WebUI, a message is displayed “The system configuration will be set to default...”. This message is incorrect and clicking “OK” will not erase the current configuration. Previous versions of FortiOS do not handle the embedded RSA signature in the MR6 image and cause the display of this message.

Thanks Alax en UkWizzard for you replies. I have succesfully updated to MR6. I can only work remotely so that' s why I had to be sure. Thanks again!
Labels
Top Kudoed Authors