Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Tonyk
New Contributor II

Website Blocking question (FGT60F)

I'm a newbie regarding Fortinet products, so forgive me if I ask something silly  :)

When I hit an innocuous website like
www.newsweekjapan.jp

I get fortinic firewall notification that access was blocked by firewall policy 15.

I then check policy ID 15
It's named GEOBLOCK
It has for destinations two address groups
'GEO IP FILTER'
and
'BLOCKED-IPs-Group'

The first group does contain "Japan" (why it would is a mystery to med at the moment)

The 2nd does not contain the ip address (block) of Newsweekjapan

So yeah.. Seems all Japan ip/sites are blocked right?

Yet random *.jp sites I tried in chrome come up just fine

I found no exceptions that would seem to allow some jp sites through but not others

Confused 

1 Solution
abarushka
Staff
Staff

Hello,

It is possible verify on FortiGate side to which country certain IP address belongs to (i.e. diagnose geoip geoip-query <public ip>). Please find more details below:

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-Commands-to-verify-GeoIP-information-and/t...

FortiGate

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
abarushka
Staff
Staff

Hello,

It is possible verify on FortiGate side to which country certain IP address belongs to (i.e. diagnose geoip geoip-query <public ip>). Please find more details below:

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-Commands-to-verify-GeoIP-information-and/t...

FortiGate
Tonyk
New Contributor II

Thank You for the reply. 
I will look at the link.info you shared!

Thanks again!

jackys
New Contributor

No worries, everyone starts somewhere! Understanding firewall policies and Fortinet products can be a bit overwhelming at first, but I'll try to help clarify the situation for you.