Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Jorisboth
New Contributor

Wan failover to same ISP

I've got a datacenter setup where I've got two uplinks. One uplink goes to the Corerouter-A and the other goes to the Corerouter-B. Both of them are managed by my ISP and they are running VRRP to make sure only one link is up at a time.

How do I connect this to my fortigate 100D router? I've already added two static routes to the same gateway (one for each WAN port) and configured a WAN load-balance with ping check. I'm having doubts about the seconds part, because my primary WAN IP address (that needs to be configured on the active WAN port) can only be set to one of the WAN ports, not both.

The IP address on the WAN port is necessary because my aditional subnets are routed to this IP address.

Any help is more then welcome :). I'm new to Fortinet products but I'm loving it already!

9 REPLIES 9
Robin_Svanberg
Contributor

Jorisboth wrote:

I've got a datacenter setup where I've got two uplinks. One uplink goes to the Corerouter-A and the other goes to the Corerouter-B. Both of them are managed by my ISP and they are running VRRP to make sure only one link is up at a time.

How do I connect this to my fortigate 100D router? I've already added two static routes to the same gateway (one for each WAN port) and configured a WAN load-balance with ping check. I'm having doubts about the seconds part, because my primary WAN IP address (that needs to be configured on the active WAN port) can only be set to one of the WAN ports, not both.

The IP address on the WAN port is necessary because my aditional subnets are routed to this IP address.

Any help is more then welcome :). I'm new to Fortinet products but I'm loving it already!

Hi,