Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
mac5
New Contributor

VPN/Proxy apps blocking

Hello,

I work as a system/server admin at a company that has many branches around the world, which means that most employees are using vpn connections for work purposes.

My problem is some employees are using proxy/vpn mobile apps to access social media sites (like youtube and facebook), and im unable to block these connections since I will be blocking all the vpn connections (tunneling) for all employees, also I cannot block their ips since I done know which ip belongs to which user.

I hope you can help me in going around this issue because its causing alot of problems considering the limited bandwidth that we have.

P.S I am new at this job and still learning about firewall and stuff, so if you are going to answer please be specific :) 

Thanks

1 Solution
netmin
Contributor II

Hi @mac5,

a good start is the document 'library' here: http://docs.fortinet.com/

I would suggest to get hold of a spare Fortigate device (or download the trial VM from the support portal) and start testing whatever you would like to implement on your corporate devices later on.

Just take a look at your Fortigate device options and there exist multiple options, i.e. geographic addresses, application filters and website category filters which can be used separately or together in your firewall policies.

...and - be aware that when you enable split tunneling on a VPN connection (because this is what may allow traffic to bypass the VPN tunnel) your policies might not apply to some of the traffic ...

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
netmin
Contributor II

Hi @mac5,

a good start is the document 'library' here: http://docs.fortinet.com/