Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jm-barreto
New Contributor III

Site to Site Ipsec vpn peer id

Greetings

I am new to Fortigate and have a lab to connect two sites using IPsec VPN. I have used Sonicwall before and am trying to learn what this type of setup would look like in Fortigate.

So far, I have been able to configure it using the guides and the cookbook with no problems. But with Sonicwall, I could do the VPN tunnel using the Firewall identifier (user-defined name) instead of the wan IP. I saw that FortiGate uses the peer id, but I have to specify the remote wan IP.

This feature in Sonicwall solved the problem of knowing the IP of the remote site since I transported my clients from their remote site to their main site. Still, the internet service belongs to the client, and I often do not have access to know their wan IP to be able to establish the VPN tunnel.

And I'd like to see if there is something similar in Fortigate to perform that type of configuration.

JBC
JBC
1 Solution
gfleming
Staff
Staff

Peer ID is useful in situations where you have multiple VPN tunnels coming from the same source IP and you want to differentiate them.

In your situation—if i understand you correctly— you probably just need to enable dynamic peering on the hub/central Fortigate. And now the remote firewalls can have dynamic/changing IP addresses and will still connect.

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-How-to-configure-a-FortiGate-as-IPsec-VPN-...

Cheers,
Graham

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
gfleming
Staff
Staff

Peer ID is useful in situations where you have multiple VPN tunnels coming from the same source IP and you want to differentiate them.