Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
preyes
New Contributor

SSL VPN No local DNS

Hi there, newbie here in the Fortinet world.

Our HO has FortiGate 200 running ver 6.4

I am also using FortiClient 6.4; I downgraded to FortiClient version 6.0 and it work fine; but I can not believe that this problem exists since version 6.2 and nobody noticed.

I have a SSL VPN configured which connects fine; but is does not transfer the local dns server info to the remote user. 

What can be the problem?

Thanks in advanced.

17 REPLIES 17
oscar37
New Contributor

do you have DNS server set to your local dns in your SSL VPN settings? 

#config vpn ssl setting     set dns-server1 <LOCAL DNS IP>     set dns-server2 <Local DNS IP>

you can also set via GUI from your SSL VPN settings.

Thank you in Advance

preyes
New Contributor

Thanks for the quick reply.

I have configured under Split DNS (SSL-VPN Portal)

Primary DNS (local primary dns server) and Secondary DNS (local secondary dns server)

isamt

Configure DNS for SSL Vpn under config vpn ssl settings.

config vpn ssl settings    set dns-suffix "Domain_Name"    set dns-server1 192.168.1.1

set dns-server2 192.168.1.2

You should also configure dns-suffix, otherwise vpn clients will only be able to ping IP addresses or fully qualified host names.

So i you have a server named intranet.domain.com on IP 192.168.1.100 vpn users can ping 192.168.1.100 and intranet.domain.com but not hostname intranet unless you set the dns-suffix to "domain.com"

preyes
New Contributor

I am unable to ping to intranet.domain.com but I can ping successfully to 192.168.1.100

The vpn user is a local user created on the FortiGate running 6.4 and FortiClient 6.4

I noticed that FortiClient 6.0 allow me to ping to intranet.domain.com and 192.168.1.100

aseques
New Contributor