Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
preyes
New Contributor

SSL VPN No local DNS

Hi there, newbie here in the Fortinet world.

Our HO has FortiGate 200 running ver 6.4

I am also using FortiClient 6.4; I downgraded to FortiClient version 6.0 and it work fine; but I can not believe that this problem exists since version 6.2 and nobody noticed.

I have a SSL VPN configured which connects fine; but is does not transfer the local dns server info to the remote user. 

What can be the problem?

Thanks in advanced.

17 REPLIES 17
UrbyTuesday

FYI, the full process i tried on a new laptop:

installed 6.4.2, no DNS resolution.

backed down to 6.2.6, all was well.

installed 6.2.8 to test...it broke again.

backed down to 6.2.7...it worked properly again.

Juquinha

Hi!

I was looking at this thread and I would like to ask if you guys checked the suffix settings at your machine to test this. Normally, we put the internal domains suffix at the NIC list to computers to always look for the FQDN. Even though, the DNS server also can look in its base for the query.its.domain.

I, actually, prefer to know that Fortigate DOES NOT interfer into the resolution process. It is something that has only to do with the dns client and server.

mister

maybe its relevant to me ?

my issue:

I can not surf to websites on the Internet (no site) when I am connected from home with FORTI. While connecting the FORTI it is "Inserts" in the DNS'S wireless network card. When the alternate DNS it plants is "X.X.X.X". Only when I manually change it to dns google can I access the Internet in parallel with my connection in FORTI ... But any reconnection of FORTI of course eliminates this change in the wireless network card.

aseques
New Contributor

mister wrote:

maybe its relevant to me ?

my issue: