Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jb_kalm
Contributor

No UTM Logs - FAZ 5.2.1 with Fortigate 5.0.9

Hello Fortigurus,

Last week we upgraded our FAZ 4000B to 5.2.1 and after the database got done rebuilding a few days later we don't see any UTM logs on the FAZ. The Fortigate is a 3600C and is running 5.0.9 at the moment. The UTM logs are necessary for troubleshooting and reporting. Have any of you experienced this problem or know what can be done to resolve it? Please advise.

Thank you,

JB.KALM

1 Solution
hzhao_FTNT

Hi jb, I am not a fgt expert, but I remember there was a bug in FOS5.0.5 or 5.0.6: sometime FGT do not send utm log, this issue can be fixed after reboot. Give it a try?

By the way, one FAZ side, you can reset fortilogd under cli:

dia test app fortilogd 99

Regards,

hz

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
hzhao_FTNT
Staff
Staff

Hi, do you mean no utm log in log view or log browse? From FAZ5.0.7, we write all utm logs into tlog.log, but you should be able to see utm logs in log view.

Regards,

hz

jb_kalm

Hi hz,

No UTM logs in the log view. We see the Traffic logs but UTM logs are blank/empty. As a result our reports (which use the UTM fields like "hostname" or "category") are also empty. I have the "extended_UTM_logs enable" feature enabled on all of my security profiles/sensors etc but still no UTM logs. 

Thank you,

jb

hzhao_FTNT

Hi jb,

According to QA engineer of log view: 

For 5.0 Fortigate, default is UTM log off in each UTM profile. Better to check FGT local first whether it has UTM log, if no, enable UTM log in its active UTM profile. 

Regards, hz

jb_kalm

Hey hz,