Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
LK_KT
New Contributor

NATed mode + Transparent mode with public IPs

Hi everyone.

I'm aware, that there were similar topics, but I couldn't find any relevant "enough" to what I want to do. And I have to say that I'm a newbie to Fortigates, so spare me :)

Anyway, what I have is Fortigate 200B (firmware - v 5.2.3) and a bunch of 14 public IP addresses from one pool (/28). What I want to achieve is having some Fortigate ports (let's say half) NATed and other half should be in Transparent mode. Ports in Transparent mode are for devices that have to use public IP but of course I want to secure access to those devices. As far as I know - this can be done with VDOMs, and as someone told me - for each server in transparent mode I need 2 ports (one Internet facing and one connected to server).

Now, the problem is - is it really possible to do? When I tried to configure something like this and was trying to setup new transparent VDOM, I have to provide Management IP and Gateway IP. I don't know how to deal with this and I cannot get around the problem. Can I have something like a group of two bridged ports with no "management IP"? I want to configure everything using only one public IP - the one that is in front of NAT.

I'd either like to have it

- like on the picture on the left side - two ports grouped together

- or, even better, like on the picture on the right side - one port is Internet facing and others are bridged with it, less ports used

I'd really appreciate your help.

Thank you

Lucas

6 REPLIES 6
iJake
Contributor

Would it not be possible to put a switch on the "inside" port with all your devices connected to it, then the bridged port used for the "outside".

-Jake

...... -Jake
LK_KT
New Contributor

Hi Jake.