Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
KuyaJerome
New Contributor

Modem to Fortigate Port Forwarding VPN

Hi,

I am very new to Firewalls, though I configured some with the help of video tutorials. Now we have one on our own, I'm planning to configure it for Remote VPN so we can easily access our office files anywhere specially when we're in the field since we are IT service providers. 

I followed the instructions from this link https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=5&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjj3NiJ4N_e...

But I think this only applies when we are using the Public IP of our ISP. I set the WAN IP as DHCP. Now, I need the detailed instructions on how I can access our office LAN outside using Remote VPN. I think I have to port forward the Public IP of our router to the DHCP IP of the Fortigate. And I have no idea on how to do that. I hope I have someone I can talk with this.

Thanks and best regards,

Jerome

16 REPLIES 16
KuyaJerome

Hi Tim,

Good day! Do I have to setup any DDNS on the SSL-VPN config?

Thank you very much! 

KuyaJerome

I was able to make the port forwarding work. I tried using telnet to check if it works. 

KuyaJerome

It's a DSL Modem Tim. 

KuyaJerome

All I can get is from this link http://setuprouter.com/router/pldt/speedsurf-504an/manuals.htm. Can't find the model in the physical device either. 

sw2090
Honored Contributor

Basically you have to look at two things:

1) Is you DSL Modem in Bridge Mode or is it acting as router? If it acts as router (i.e. it does the internet dial up) you need to do portforwarding for IPSEC to work. This would be Port 4500 UDP (NAT-T) and 500 UDP (IPSEC).

If it is in bridge mode (i.e. your FGT does PPPOE on its WAN) you don't need to do Portforwarding at all.