Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
nadav
New Contributor

Main Vdom is NAT, second Vdom is transparent - no internet on transparent vdom

Hi everyone i am a newbie in fortigate i have a 800c device and im trying to create a transparent vdom as second to the primary nat vdom i can browse the management ip of the transparent vdom from the client but i can' t get to the internet - from logs i see that the destination interface is unknown my internet comes from an adsl router with the gw 10.0.0.138 clients behind vdom0 with nat to 172.16.0.0/24 can browse fine but clients behind vdom1 can only see 10.0.0.140 (vdom1 mgmt ip) im guessing its a result of my wan being connected to vdom0 only but what can i do? thanks in advance
8 REPLIES 8
emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

It hard to see what your topology but I think your doing what' s called stacked vdom. is vdom2 dependent on the 1st vdom? Take a look at this post and tell me if this is what you want or trying todo? Or draw a topology map.With the interfaces you are using? http://socpuppet.blogspot.com/2014/09/a-meshed-vdom-transparent-using-inter.html

PCNSE 

NSE 

StrongSwan  

PCNSE NSE StrongSwan
nadav
New Contributor

Hi Emnoc - and thanks so much for replying i am building a vcloud lab with the fortigate machines which will be used in production i have management network working fine with vdom0 and tenants network that should be transparent with vdom1 (vshield will do the nat and firewall) my policy on both vdoms is to allow any from the VM on the transparent dswitch i can browse to 10.0.0.140 (vdom1' s management ip) but thats it if i create half-ip vdom interlink i can setup vm with the half ip as gateway - but i have to work with the 10.0.0.0/24 subnet which represents public ip for the cloud (to be clear - tenant gets an ip 10.0.0.200 and 10.0.0.138 as gw)
nadav
New Contributor