Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
fittan
New Contributor

How to monitor attacks from the Internet?

Hi, totally newbie here. I came from Cisco background and just deployed my first 100E firewall. Great firewall and I am getting familiar with the firewall now. 

My only gripe is that I cannot find any way to monitor traffic on the "outside" interface. No real time logs and no reports either. Fortigate is excellent showing me all sorts of log from the "inside" (web, antivirus, ips, dns, etc). But as for events on the "outside", I am clueless (feels like I am driving blind). I have called Fortigate support several times and they are somewhat surprised about my request and later concurred that there is no such "functionality". 

Am I missing something here? Or is there really no way to monitor? Thanks in advance. 

16 REPLIES 16
JardaTesar
New Contributor

Hi, I am kinda newbie too. I deployed my 61E about a month ago, but I found few things that might be helpful. I am using Virtual IPs for connection to my servers, pair with Policies for each VIP group, these policies have Antivirus, Intrusion prevention, DNS filter, Web Application Firewall and SSL inspection enabled (and Anti spam profile for mail server), then these policies are set to Log security violations. This way I can see in Log & Report in each category (AV, Antispam, IPS, etc..) if I filter by Policy what attacks were caught by each security profile, so I can monitor attacks on basic vulnerabilities (like brute forces, and so on) which were blocked, as well as Spam filtering for SMTP and caught viruses coming to my network from outside. If you wanted to monitor attacks pointed directly to Fortigate (like management ports, VPN, ...) you would have to enable feature in Settings to show Local policies and setup these policies the same as those for VIPs to monitor the attacks.

JNehru