Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
hecklejekyll
New Contributor

How to change ips profile

Hi, I have been working on a demo project and am trying to configure IPS on my fortigate. I had to turn the feature on and I can configure a fw policy with the profiles. I am very new to firewalls and I have not placed the ips sensors on all the correct policies. I want to modify those policies but when i go into them they no longer have options to change the security stuff(av, webfiltering, ips, ect) do I have to delete the rule and recreate it every time or is there a way to edit? 

1 Solution
AEK
SuperUser
SuperUser

Hello

• First, edit the policy and enable ssl certificate inspection
  • Click on to validate the change
  • Edit the policy again and there you can set the security profiles

Try not change the default profile. Always create your own and edit them as needed. I think is better do so.

If you are not familiar with security profiles, like IPS, App and so, just use the default profiles, they are good ones.

AEK

View solution in original post

AEK
3 REPLIES 3
AEK
SuperUser
SuperUser

Hello

• First, edit the policy and enable ssl certificate inspection
  • Click on to validate the change
  • Edit the policy again and there you can set the security profiles

Try not change the default profile. Always create your own and edit them as needed. I think is better do so.

If you are not familiar with security profiles, like IPS, App and so, just use the default profiles, they are good ones.

AEK
AEK
hecklejekyll
New Contributor

Thanks for the quick response, I am about to go up there to try this out. Can you guide me on where to put the sensors? I know they should go on any policy going to the Webserver DMZ, I Have no policies allowing other traffic into the network except for vpn. Do my internet access policies for internal users need IPS? what about my tunnels?

AEK