Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
nielsvangestel
New Contributor

Fortinet SD Wan with MPLS Network with private firewall

sdHello,

this is my first time on this forum and have a very specific question. as a new vendor for fortinet but a long time vendor of mpls solutions i have a question about the sd wan functionality in the fortigate?

Our current setup is a MPLS solution that is installed with the customers own private firewall managed by their mother company or their current it partner.

because we only want to give the customer more data about network usage, export this data and make it available in our own portal i would like to know if it is possible to place a fortigate between the mpls router and the customers firewall and that we only have the sd wan capacities of the fortigate?

apparantly nouage and meraki have this possibility.

Thanks for all the feedback regarding this question and the help!

8 REPLIES 8
AlexC-FTNT
Staff
Staff

MPLS is a private connection (point to point) given through the ISP, which terminates at the MPLS router. From that router you get (hopefully) an ethernet cable for the office connection. I don't think there's any limitation from plugging this cable into the FortiGate, and configure it as part of SDWAN. You can have even more ISP (non-MPLS) connections in this SDWAN on FortiGate.

On the other hand, if there is some routing or setup involved in your existing MPLS router (certain local subnet routed to MPLS, and all other traffic to public internet link) then you need to know this setup, and apply it in the FortiGate.

- Toss a 'Like' to your fixxer, oh Valley of Plenty! and chose the solution, too00oo -
nielsvangestel

Hello Alex,

the configuration info we can easily acquire because we provide the MPLS with the ISP of the customer.