Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
bkyuksel
New Contributor II

Fortigate internal firewall for a VLAN

Hello Dear Friends,.

As a Cisco guy I need help for a Fortigate internal firewall implementation :)

I have 3 vlans and I want to put an internal firewall for 1 vlan.

I did it many times for Cisco ASA but I am stuck with Fortigate.

I have basic knowledge of Forti OS and GUI but this is a little bit fizzy for me.

On this topology I want to implement a firewall (not transparent mode) for vlan 66

So all the internal traffic will hit the internal firewall. 

On the firewall I will put some policies to decide who can access to vlan 66 and from vlan 66 to outside.

Note: I have Cisco L3 core switch. And here on this example port2 for Fortigate management.forti_internal.png

9 REPLIES 9
ndumaj
Staff
Staff

Hello,

In this case you need to add the 3 vlans into FortGate and based on your needs you can manage the policy access rules from inside or outside towards these 3 vlans and VS.
You need to create the vlans under the interface where FGT is connected with Cisco SW.

For more info review the following article how to create vlans:
https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-How-to-create-a-VLAN-tagged-interface-802-...

-BR-

- Happy to help, hit like and accept the solution -
bkyuksel
New Contributor II

Hello Ndumaj,

Thank you for your kind and fast reply but I have still questions.

I want to keep other vlans on the core switch. I will only create 1 more on the firewall for this.

-Should there be only one physical port connections? 

-How this connection should be defined at cisco side trunk or access?

Could you please give me more specific information?

Thanks a lot

ndumaj

Hello bkyuksel,

Great you can create only one vlan up to you, based on your needs.