Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
cge1
New Contributor

Fortigate in ByBass Mode, no access at all

Dear all, 

I am pretty new to configurate firewalls. We bought a Fortigate 80F which has been initially configured in terms of ISP PPPoE Access.

now if have 2 problems, which i cannot solve by myself: 

1. For any reason the device do not forward now traffic from WAN to LAN Ports. (not that dramatic for now) 

2. In Addition the Device is in a bypass mode, which do not allows me to connect to the firewall at all. Reset Button do not show any effect, mobile device config via BLE is producing error message. Typing the local IP while being connected to a lan port brings nothing. i assume that is changed the ports into dhcp mode, but once i do a IP Scan in my internal network the firewall is not shown. Ping is sucessfull. console cable not available. 

I just want to reset the device. any ideas ?  

Thanks for your help in advance.

3 REPLIES 3
pgautam
Staff
Staff

Hi @cge1 

If you are not able to take the GUI or SSH of the Firewall then in 80F fortigate reset button is available.

You can try to reset FGT from the Pinhole method using the reset button.

Before pressing the reset button check the status LED status.

As soon as the status LED started blinking hit the reset button. The firewall will get reboot post completing the reset. Once FGT comes up make before trying the access make power and status LED up and in solid status.

Please find the datasheet of FGT 80F

https://www.fortinet.com/content/dam/fortinet/assets/data-sheets/fortigate-fortiwifi-80f-series.pdf

Regards

Priyanka

- Have you found a solution? Then give your helper a "Kudos" and mark the solution.

sw2090
SuperUser
SuperUser

Keep in mind that you might have to coldrestart your fgt before using the reset button since it gets deactivated within some minutes after bootup.