Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
yifan
New Contributor

FortiClient not working after changing router.

Hello.

I have used a forticlient vpn to access a remote desktop for work. It's always worked fine, but I have recently moved my setup from England to France for Christmas and it's stopped working. I am of course using a new roruter, have gone from Virgin to Orange. I cannot access the VPN and it gets stuck at 10% every time. I tried pinging the VPN address as well, and I get an error which says Request Timed Out. The wifi speed itself is really good, I can get crazy speeds of over 800mbps.

I also tried using my phone's WiFi hotspot as a source of wifi for my pc and it actually managed to log into the VPN (despite it being so slow it's almost unusable). I was still able to get on to the system.

I am a real novice on all of this, but I can only see it seems like it's perhaps something to do with the Orange router box.

Any help would be great. Thanks!!

VidMate mobdro
3 REPLIES 3
sw2090
Honored Contributor

Maybe the new router runs some firewall and blocks some port you need to connect?

Do you use SSL or IPSec VPN?

-- 

"It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes." - Douglas Adams

-- "It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes." - Douglas Adams
Alex13
New Contributor

Hi all,

I have a similar question/problem. Im using Forticlient 7.0.7.0345 and ever since I have received a new line and router (upgraded to fiber optic from adsl) I cant connect to Fortinet on Windows 10. Stuck at 10% following the error message to contact admin etc. 

The error occurs wired and with the wifi signal, however when I connect via my mobile connection/hotspot, it works. When I try to connect to the hotspot while my mobile has the wifi connection from the router, it doesnt work.