Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
YtseJam
New Contributor III

FGT_40C Hardware Problem?

Hi guys,

I just wanna ask help how to reset my fortigate 40C. It boot failed when I console it, then when I tried to format the boot device and load a new firmware via tftp it doesn't work.. Anyone can diagnose what's the problem, is it already a hardware failure/problem? I attached boot logs as reference... Thank you in advance...

Regards,

JAM

6 REPLIES 6
MikePruett
Valued Contributor

It looks like you need to format and load an image via TFTP.

That being said, the 40C is ancient. Get you a newer device that isn't way beyond EOL and enjoy.

Mike Pruett Fortinet GURU | Fortinet Training Videos
YtseJam
New Contributor III

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the reply.

anyway, I already load a new image via tftp (see attached screenshot error). Its my first time to see that error, I already load tons of fortigate image via tftp and it works fine.. 

Yeah your right, 40C I think face out already.. but recently we renew a 2 years license. Is it possible to get a new device then use/transfer our current license?

foo
New Contributor

Hi,

Did you perform a HQIP (Hardware Quick Inspection Package)-test? According to <http://wiki.diagnose.fortinet.com/index.php/Running_an_HQIP_(Hardware_Quick_Inspection_Package)_test... HQIP supports the FG-40C.

Regards,

Peter

Iescudero
Contributor II

Hello YtseJam!

I think it could be the nic port 5 (I'm not sure if this affect only port 5 or the entire internal ports).

You already tried to load the Firmware using another port? maybe wan1 or wan2 ports.

MikePruett

Run a full HQIP just for testing purposes and see if any of the hardware comes back as failing.