Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
dcm2k
New Contributor

FGT 100D - Upgrade to 5.4 from 5.2

Hi to all,

I am quite new to the FGT world. My Company bought a FGT 100D three months ago, that came with v. 5.2.4 installed. The GUI has shown the message about the update to 5.2.7, but nothing about 5.4. What do I need to update to 5.4? Do I need any support contract?

Thank you all.

2 Solutions
seadave

5.4 is a major upgrade and still considered to be unstable in some use cases.  I've been using it with moderate success on a 500D for three months but got hit by two bugs:

IPSec NPU offloading can cause a runaway process and requires a hard reboot.

-resolution is to disable npu offloading via the IPv4 policy for IPSec inbound.

Setting SSL/SSH DPI to "All Ports" kills the Proxyd after ~24 hours and requires hard reboot.

-resolution is to disable "all ports" in favor of the static 443, 22, etc. via the DPi options screen.

If the current build is working for you, I might suggest waiting until 5.4.3 or 5.4.4.  If you do upgrade, follow the upgrade guide in the 5.4 Admin Handbook.  Backup your config, setup a serial connection, and keep a local copy of the latest 5.2.X version you are running so that you can downgrade if the upgrade doesn't go well.

View solution in original post

seadave
Contributor III

I must have been dreaming about a post here, sorry.  Here was the situation.