Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Paddy
New Contributor

Embarrassing Ethernet Issue Solved

I am a network engineer so keep the laughter down to a minimum.   I had a situation where I was replacing my Cisco ASA5505 with a Fortigate 40F.   I had all kinds of issues with throughput and SSL resets from my Cisco phone after the swap.

The Cisco ASA5505 only has 100Mbps Ethernet interfaces.   100Mbps is a 4 wire Ethernet configuration using 1,2,3,6 pins of the 4 wires.  The Fortigate has 1000Mbp eight wire interfaces.

For some reason, when the AT&T technician installed my modem and ran the Ethernet cable back to where my firewall was set up, he split the 8 wires into 2 four wire jacks.    I did not know this.

What I found out.  I could not get the Fortigate to negotiate 1000Mbps with the modem.   I used the 100Mbps setting thinking I had something wrong with the modem.  I replaced the modem and it still did not work.  

One day I was looking at the two jacks laying on the floor, one with a connection to the Fortigate and one sitting empty.   I thought to myself what is that?   I blew away all the dust to see what the AT&T technician did and thought oh no, this is the issue.  

I re-terminated the ends to be a single cable and all was fixed. 

5 REPLIES 5
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

I would re-wire and make all 8 wires go into one jack. It's an old method when T1+CAT3 cable was very common. We used to do that for inside wiring even for Ethernet to save cables. But no more because of PoE. It's no longer a practical/effective practice other than creating confusion and mistakes when they're repurposed, just like in your case.

wkana

No laughter here. I too am a Network Engineer and have had my fair share of "oh no" what is this scenarios. Sometimes the solution is sitting right there, just not yet readily viewable. 

aagrafi
Contributor II