Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Matteo
New Contributor

Daily IPsec phase 1 error... attacks?

Hi,

I'm new to the FortiOS system and I have just configured a FortiGate cluster by activating a SSL VPN (not an IPSec tunnel). However, each day I am seeing error logs reporting Progress IPsec phase 1 errors like this one:

date=2016-07-03 time=07:24:41 devname=XXX devid=YYY logid=0101037128 type=event subtype=vpn level=error vd="root" logdesc="Progress IPsec phase 1" msg="progress IPsec phase 1" action=negotiate remip=REMOTEIP locip=COMPANYID remport=42987 locport=500 outintf="wan1" cookies="0011223344556677/

0000000000000000" user="N/A" group="N/A" xauthuser="N/A" xauthgroup="N/A" assignip=N/A vpntunnel="N/A" status=failure init=remote mode=main dir=inbound stage=1 role=responder result=ERROR

date=2016-07-03 time=07:24:41 devname=XXX devid=YYY logid=0101037124 type=event subtype=vpn level=error vd="root" logdesc="IPsec phase 1 error" msg="IPsec phase 1 error" action=negotiate remip=REMOTEIP locip=COMPANYID remport=42987 locport=500 outintf="wan1" cookies="0011223344556677/0000000000000000" user="N/A" group="N/A" xauthuser="N/A" xauthgroup="N/A" assignip=N/A vpntunnel="N/A" status=negotiate_error reason="peer SA proposal not match local policy" peer_notif="NOT-APPLICABLE"

The IP addresses are always associated to addresses from Hong Kong or California, and each day they try to connect to different company IP addresses.

Do I have to be worried about these logs? Can I protect the system by enabling/changing something? I don't think so these are real connection attempts and they seems to be scanning attacks.

Many thanks :)

3 REPLIES 3
Toshi_Esumi
SuperUser
SuperUser