Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jdiaz
New Contributor

Connected to VPN, cannot access servers.

Hello,

I need some help with this issue. I have a user who is working remotely and connecting to the Forticlient VPN software. She is able to log in just fine however she cannot access our server drives or our exchange server. However, when I log in at my location I am able to access the drives just fine.

Could anyone help me pinpoint the issue. I'm not an expert in this area by any means but I am the only one available to help.

Thank you.

5 REPLIES 5
orani
Contributor II

You have to check the group that the user account is. And you have to make tow policies for accepting this kind of traffic (vpn-->server and server-->vpn)

Orestis Nikolaidis

Network Engineer/IT Administrator

Orestis Nikolaidis Network Engineer/IT Administrator
tdragon
New Contributor II

Configuration screen shot is needed to address this issue ,than kyou

TecnetRuss

Here's what I'd recommend you do first to try to pinpoint the problem:

Assuming the FortiClient device successfully connects and you have access to it, and assuming that your VPN to LAN IPv4 policies are configured to allow ping/ICMP and your servers are configured to respond to ping, try to ping the server by short name (e.g. ping exchangeserver1), full name/FQDN (e.g. ping exchangeserver1.domain.local) and by internal IP address (e.g. ping 192.168.1.111).

[ul]
  • If none of the above work, you've likely got a missing or misconfigured VPN to LAN interface IPv4 policy.  Check to make sure that the source and destination address objects are correct and that the right user/group object that includes the VPN user who is having trouble is in the source column of the policy.