Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
tolinrome
New Contributor

Connected 148F Switch to Cisco 2960X - Traffic wont pass

Hi all,

I configured out of the box a 148F layer 2 fortiswitch and connected it to a Cisco 2960X layer 2 switch. From the Fortiswitch I can ping anywhere in the LAN, but if connect my computer or IP phone to the switch - nothing.

The computer and phone are on separate ports and in the correct vlan. The ports connecting the two switches are up and no errors. The switch has a L3 interface and it can ping its default gateway and as mention anywhere on the LAN. I just cant figure out why I'm not able to get anything on the computer and phone.

I'm new to Fortinet and have experience only with Cisco switches.

Thank you.

1 Solution
David_Dippon
Staff
Staff

Is it possible you have native LAN mis-match? 

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Anthony_E
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hello tolinrome,

Thank you for using the Community Forum. I will seek to get you an answer or help. We will reply to this thread with an update as soon as possible.

Thanks,

Anthony-Fortinet Community Team.
ebilcari
Staff
Staff

If I got it right your connecting the FSW after a Cisco SW in an existing network. Is the link between the switches configured to pass tagged VLAN and configured as trunk on the Cisco SW? Does the native VLAN matches on both switches?
The VLAN that is assigned to the port should exist as VLAN on both switches and marked as tagged/allowed on the link between them.

In order to check VLAN spanning you need to check if the MAC addresses are seen on both switches first so you have L2 connectivity than you start troubleshooting L3.

# diagnose switch mac-address list | grep -i mac
The term Trunk in FSW is used for link aggregation, not to be confused with Cisco terminology.

- Emirjon