Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
gayansa
New Contributor

Configuring a dedicate link to Office365 traffic

HI All,

I am new to Fortinet firewalls. In my scenario I have two WAN links. I need to configure a dedicated WAN link only for Office 365 traffic. How can I do that, Do I need to configure "static internet service routes" or SD WAN? I configured both options in lab environment but it did not work.

I would really appreciate if you can help me on this.

Thank you,

Gayan Samarakoon.  

5 REPLIES 5
Yurisk
Valued Contributor

I'll give the direction, details are in the Fortinet docs:

1) Enable SD-WAN, add to it interfaces connecting to the Internet

2) Create SD-WAN rules  in which you create a top-most rule with destination set to ISDB objects representing Office365 and route this traffic to the needed interface as highest priority.

Yuri https://yurisk.info/  blog: All things Fortinet, no ads.
Yuri https://yurisk.info/ blog: All things Fortinet, no ads.
gayansa
New Contributor

Hi Yuriki,

Thank you for your reply.

Is it possible to let me know detailed steps on configuring SDWAN with Office 365 application control.

Thank you,

Gayansa

sw2090
Honored Contributor

if you do not want to use sd-wan you could just create a second internet policy that matches all office365 traffic and make sure that it comes before your usual internet policy. Since Policies are exempt top down that would make all traffic to o365 hit that policy only.

if you use sdwan you cannot do this way since you no longer can access the physical wan interfaces in policies once they are members of the sd-wan.

In this case you have to do it the way Yurisk wrote.

Sd-wan config is rather easy. Just enable it and add your WAN interfaces to itl. If you have WAN with static ip setup on the FGT interface make sure to also add the gw in sd-wan.

I'd also recommend to set up some health check for sd-wan.