Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
ChrisK
New Contributor

Client Devices Dropping/Not Connecting After Firmware Updates

I am by no means a network engineer, but I'm learning as I go...

I recently updated our FG100E, FortiSwitches, and FAPs to current versions and it has broken so many things, it seems. I couldn't say exactly what version I started off at with each device, unfortunately. I'd take everything back, if I could. 

I updated the FG to 7.2.4, the switches to 7.2.3, and the APs to 7.0.0 after confirming that these versions were compatible. I also followed upgrade paths for all devices provided. 

Currently, it seems like my APs have much less reach in regards to signal strength. We also have many printers and wifi thermostats that keep disconnecting. I can't tell if this is due to the signal strength or some other issue that I can't pinpoint. I also have a number of Windows devices with connection issues, now.

I have downgraded APs to 6.2.2 in an attempt to resolve this. No luck.

I have downgraded the switches to 7.0.6. No luck.

My next thought is to take the FG back to 6.2.x, but I just really don't know.

Has anyone dealt with this? Is there a way I can see what version I started off on and get back to that? 

12 REPLIES 12
FarinaAhmed
New Contributor III

1. Confirm compatibility: Verify that the firmware versions you updated to are officially compatible with your devices.

2. Review release notes: Check the release notes for the firmware versions to identify any known issues or required configuration changes.

3. Analyze signal strength and coverage: Assess the wireless environment for any physical obstructions or interference sources that may impact signal strength.

4. Configuration adjustments: Review and optimize the wireless settings on your devices to improve signal strength and coverage.