Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
TheUsD
New Contributor III

Block/Filter routes from OSPF

Hello,
I am very new to OSFP and still getting my feet wet. 
I have three Fortigates using OSFP in one area. There is an IP-SEC tunnel from Router A to Router B and an IP-SEC tunnel from Router A to Router C. Both Router B and C need the subnets from Router A (which is working). Router A needs to know the subnets of Router B and Router C (which is working). However, Router B and Router C do not need to know the subnets of each other and not show up in each other's routing table.

How do I prevent Router B's routes showing up in Router C?

If possible, I would just like to know the search criteria and/or key words I need to look up. I'm not sure what the process is called. I would have thought that I could have two areas, say area 0.0.0.0 for Router A and B and area 0.0.0.1 for Router A (using the same subnets) and Router C. Sadly, that doesn't seem to be the case.

OSPF.png

7 REPLIES 7
srajeswaran
Staff
Staff

OSPF works based on areas and every single router on same area will have the same LSDB, which means they will be aware about the connected networks in that area. We cannot restrict/filter that.

The routes may not be active if there are other active/preferred routes to the same subnet, but the OSPF database will have the entries.

If we need to have separate route tables/ospf db,  we need to use different area and then you can apply filters on ABR to restrict specific routes being advertised from the areas . Below article explains the filtering configuration.

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-Configuring-OSPF-to-filter-Inter-Area-rout...

Regards,

Suraj

- Have you found a solution? Then give your helper a "Kudos" and mark the solution.

Toshi_Esumi
SuperUser
SuperUser