Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Zangal
New Contributor

USB Issue

Existing Fortigate 100A in my office, and I' d like to make some major changes to the config, but as a proper IT admin, I' d like to back it up first. But through the web gui or CLI, no matter which of the umpteen usb drives I put into either usb slot (2 of them) on the back, the unit does not recognize any of them. The gui shows the " USB Disk" option as grayed out, and the cli tells me no usb drive is " plugged-in" . Error -160. (using: execute backup config usb filename) If I select the " Local PC" option on the gui, I get " No Access" + " You do not have permission to access the requested page." I' m on a full admin profile with read+write for everything. The usb drives I am trying are formatted FAT16 for just this task. I tried the encrypt with password option, but no luck. The FortiOS I believe is v3 MR5 or 6, but I am not too exactly which MR as it will not tell me other than Fortigate-100A 3.00,build0319,060724 Any help?
5 REPLIES 5
Dave_Hall
Honored Contributor

I am not familiar with this version of the firmware, but it sounds as if you have some sort of vdoms enabled. If so there should be an option somewhere on the GUI to select the Global or root VDOM. From there you should be able to back up the config. Regarding the USB disk option -- you need to have the USB stick inserted into the USB port prior to the Fortigate booting up. After the reboot, it should see the storage device. edit: I would have the unit power down before inserting/removing any USB sticks. (just to be on the safe side.)

NSE4/FMG-VM64/FortiAnalyzer-VM/6.0 (FWF30E/FW92D/FGT200D/FGT101E/FGT81E)/ FAP220B/221C

NSE4/FMG-VM64/FortiAnalyzer-VM/6.0 (FWF30E/FW92D/FGT200D/FGT101E/FGT81E)/ FAP220B/221C
Zangal
New Contributor