Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
adder666
New Contributor

Some .gov sites blocked, others are not?

I'm a novice with this, but I have web filters enabled and still having trouble reaching a few government sites, for example www.pittsburghca.gov. But others, like [link]https://www.dmv.ca.gov[/link] work fine. I've explicitly allowed the blocked sites and still same error:

This Connection is Invalid. SSL certificate expired.

A secure connection to www.pittsburgca.gov cannot be established.

When you try to connect securely, sites will present trusted identification to prove that you are going to the right place. However, this site's identity can't be verified.

Sitewww.pittsburgca.govCertificate CNsan-g2.granicusgovaccess.netCertificate AuthorityR3Certificate Validity Not Before: Sep 20 16:46:45 2021 GMT Not After: Dec 19 16:46:44 2021 GMT

What am I missing? And remember, I'm a real novice with the Fortinet equipment (new job, this is what they had in place) so explain to me like I'm a 5 year old. It's a Fortigate 100E with firmware v7.0.1 build0157 (GA). Thanks!

33 REPLIES 33
adder666

I saw the Let's Encrypt thing after I posted the question. I spent a lot of time trying to get it to work. Unfortunately, the original 4 templates for SSL/SSN (certificate-inspection, custom-deep-inspection, deep-inspection, no-inspection) are the only ones there. I wasn't able to clone the certificate-inspection template, which is the one being used and I can't change it.

I cloned the custom-deep-inspection and tried modifying it to match the certificate-inspection, but must have missed. It screwed up everyone. I was able to go to the .gov sites that were blocked, but it messed up other sites. Might be easier to tell the staff to wait it out.

That or try again with the cloning deep and matching as best I can to the one in use. thanks for all your input everyone!

adder666