Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Aitor
New Contributor

Redirect HTTP Requests coming from the WAN to diferent webservers based on domain name

Hello, I am trying to redirect the traffic coming from the WAN to a specific machine based on the domain name that a user types as a URL. This is somewhat tough to explain properly since this is my first time doing it so I will try to provide a detailed example.

The FortiGate Firmware version is 6.4.7.

I have 2 different servers in the same network that run as webservers, one machine has a 192.168.1.10/32 address and the other one 192.168.1.11/32. I have a DNS hosting were I can create several alias registries pointing to the public IP address that is set on the WAN.

The main plan is the following.

I created an entry in the DNS that points machineA.mydomain.com to the public IP address set on the WAN and I I created a Virtual IP that redirects this request directly to the webserver at 192.168.1.10/32. This one worked flawlessly since it was done directly though port forwarding.

The problem comes when I try to add a second registry that points to the same public IP address on the WAN but in this case the alias is machineB.mydomain.com and the machine is 192.168.1.11/32. I have no clue how to redirect such request to a different machine since port forwarding is not an option because both machines use the same ports (or am I wrong in this statement?)

I have come across diferent ideas but I don't know if they are possible solutions and I do not know how to apply them.

1.1. Fortigate DNS Server. I was wondering if I could create a NS entry in my DNS hosting to redirect all the request from mydomain.com including all subdomains to the Fortigate DNS server through the public IP address set on the WAN.  Then I believe I can enable what it's referred as "DNS Database table" in the Fortigate and create my own entries.