Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
rm_beginner
New Contributor

Port Forwarding RDP not Working in FORTIGATE 60B connected to HUAWEI HG8245T

Hi Guys, Sorry for my english. I have testing the fortigate 60B not yet renew our license is there any effect the license in port forwarding?.

How to explain this I am very new in fortigate. my interface wan1 is connected to HUAWEI Router so I am just joining the FORTIGATE on that router to grab the DHCP Ip in my wan1 interface settings and it was successfull.

wan1 interface: ip: 192.168.100.3

subnet: 255.255.255.0

gateway: 192.168.100.1

dns: ok

internal interface: dhcp server 192.168.1.110 - 210

subnet 255.255.255.0

gateway: 192.168.1.99

i have external ip when I click whatismyip and it gives me xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (for security I cannot show this).

I set up a virtual ip port forwarding using the EXTERNAL IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx to map to 192.168.1.101

i create MYRDP the external service port and map to port number 3389.

Then I created the Firewall policy

Source Interface: wan1 Source Address: all Destination Interface: internal Destination address: MYRDP Schedule: always Service: any action accept NAT: i did not put check fixed port: I did not put check

what is wrong in my setup?  Thanks you guys for your help

8 REPLIES 8
MikePruett
Valued Contributor

You need to make the router device pass IP's directly to the Gate (place modem or ISP device in bridge mode) so that the WAN interface of the Gate gets the external address. You have double NAT going on which complicates things currently for you.

Mike Pruett Fortinet GURU | Fortinet Training Videos
rm_beginner

Thank you for your reply.

Is there any other solutions to reroute the external ip from the 1st NAT (MODEM) to the 2nd NAT(FTG) or mapped the external IP to the 2NAT IP?

because a lot of user using the 1st NAT I am just joined the FTG to the Network and create the 2nd NAT.