Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
gpojer
New Contributor

Join AD with Fortigate 40-F, DNS Problems

Hello Community,

i am absolute newbie to Fotigate. My network configuration is as follows:

The domain controller is located at the NAS1 192.168.17.201, the domain is local.XXXX.it.

My DNS settings are as follows: 

However, when I ping my domain controller with execute ping local.XXXX.it I get a response from the IP of the host of my website www.XXXX.it (courtesy page). What is wrong here?

In fact, I cannot register to the LDAP Server:

Anyone can help?

Thanks in advance.

14 REPLIES 14
gpojer
New Contributor

Can anyone help me?

NeilG

I'm guessing you are following one of the SSO LDAP cookbooks?

Cookbook | FortiGate / FortiOS 6.2.7 | Fortinet Documentation Library

One thing I noticed - your user name for your LDAP authentication is in the NT/LANMan format of Domain\Username

This (for LDAP auth) should be in a distinguished name format.

This might help:

Windows: How do I find an LDAP User and their Group Base DN for Microsoft Active Directory? – marktu...

gpojer
New Contributor

I have tried with cn=administrator, DC=local, DC=XXXX, DC=it and it still does not work.

gpojer
New Contributor

Can anyone help?

brycemd

You will need to setup source IPs for those functions so the fortigate knows what IP to send from.

In the case of LDAP:

config user ldap

edit 'your ldap name'

set source-ip 'your internal IP'

end

This is because the fortigate uses the interface it exits as it's source IP. The problem with this is IPSEC tunnels by default have a IP of 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0 which means it is not returnable from the other side for fortigate generated traffic. So, you need to identify what IP the traffic should be generated with.