Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
LC-AT
New Contributor

Fortigate Automation backup

Hello,

newbie using Fortigate.

I created an automation sticth to upload a config backup to an SFTP server. I used the following CLI command

execute backup config sftp /path/firewall_backup.cfg SFTP_IP SFTP_user SFTP-password

If i run the above "CLI" command manually, file is created using the name I specify (in the example, firewall_backup.cfg)

if I run the same command via an automation stitch, filename is prefixed with the fortigate serial number (i.e. it becomes FG123456789_firewall_backup.cfg)

Of course such prefix doesn't disturb me, but I would like to understand WHY this prefix... Checked on documentation but since I'm a newbie on fortigate was unable to find the right point.

Can someone help me understanding this  behaviour?

Thanks in advance

1 Solution
kcheng

Hi LC-AT,

Thanks for your prompt response. I've tested the relevant on a Windows-based Open-SSH server, I do not see the same behavior. If this is an issue for you, I would suggest you to open a support ticket with us via https://support.fortinet.com. With a ticket opened, we can have more resources to perform the testing to look into your issue.

Cheers,
Kayzie Cheng

If you have found a solution, please like and accept it to make it easily accessible for others.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello LC-AT, 

Thank you for using the Community Forum. I will seek to get you an answer or help. We will reply to this thread with an update as soon as possible. 

Thanks, 

Fortinet Community Team 

kcheng
Staff
Staff

Hi LC-AT,