Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
wccca_is
New Contributor

Fortigate 1801F FIPS - what options do i have?

We're towards the end of a new building project. The network is up and mostly ready to go with x2 FG 1801F in HA config. We contracted out with a 3rd party to acquire the hardware and design the network for us (before I started working in my current role). We need to retain our CJIS standing, so our equipment needs to be FIPS compliant and pass an upcoming audit (which i've never done before). Here's our issue - i've been researching enabling FIPS mode on our firewalls now that we have a solid config working on them, but i'm not seeing them listed on any of the FIPS documentation as certified models. Does that mean, if we were to try to enable FIPS mode that it would fail and/or not work? Or would it work and we'd find ourselves not fully in compliance? I'm trying to figure out our best options for being FIPS compliant given the situation.

As a related side-note: has anyone ever manually changed their configs and settings to be FIPS compliant without enabling the FIPS mode? At this point i'm willing to do anything to make this work.

5 REPLIES 5
Anthony_E
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hello wccca_is,

Thank you for using the Community Forum.

I will seek to get you an answer or help. We will reply to this thread with an update as soon as possible.

Regards,

Anthony-Fortinet Community Team.
Anthony_E
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hello,

I have found a KB article which explain how to enable FIPS-CC mode:

https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Technical-Tip-How-to-enable-FIPS-CC-mode/ta-p/196629

Could you please tell me if it helps?

Regards,

Anthony-Fortinet Community Team.
wccca_is
New Contributor

Hey Anthoney,

Thanks for reaching back out!