Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
JEsguerra
New Contributor

FortiManager Interface Mapping

I am new to the FortiManager. I;ve been working with Fortigate products for a long time but first time in fortimanager and with a new project that consists of over 30 100Ds and a few 900Ds Fortigates.

What is the best practice to handle the interfaces for different products, do you create an interface Port1 for each of the models? or just Port1 and it is called in the policies and the packages that are destined to each model?

Or do you create a Port1_100D and a Port1_900D in order to segregate them?

Anybody has several models installed that can guide me to what has worked for you when it comes to mapping the ports?

Thank you kindly.

1 Solution
ergotherego
Contributor II

No need to worry about naming the interfaces differently across different platforms inside FMG. You just need to remember to reference the proper interface when creating new policies, otherwise install will fail (zone validation).

It only matters if you are going to do:

1) Shared policy packages across firewalls of different platforms

2) Global policy packages

If you need to account for one of those things, my recommendation is to zone all interfaces on every firewall. Then your policies reference the zone - ie, Public, Camers, etc, etc.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ergotherego
Contributor II

No need to worry about naming the interfaces differently across different platforms inside FMG. You just need to remember to reference the proper interface when creating new policies, otherwise install will fail (zone validation).

It only matters if you are going to do:

1) Shared policy packages across firewalls of different platforms

2) Global policy packages