Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
MarcusI
New Contributor

Configuring Fiber on Fortigate 100E

Good afternoon, Hi, I'm here looking for your orientation because I'm still new with Fortinet, the case is that we have a Fortigate 100E and we're going to hire a fiber link and we need to know how is the best option to connect it, if directly to the one of the ports SFP or using one of the ports of the LAN(15,16) which are indicated like "shared interfaces". Which is the best practice? How I make the link between port ethernet and SFP when connect the fiber? we must separate a port ethernet from the LAN? we have the port WAN2 free so we would using to connect the fiber and is mor simple? use a transceiver? sorry for all this questions but I'm a little confusing and I need to know the more siple way to manage this subject.

Thanks in advance.

Greetings.

7 REPLIES 7
ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

hi,

and welcome to the forums.

The SFP ports and the last GbE (copper) ports are mutually exclusive, that is, if you use a SFP port the corresponding copper port is disabled.

All in all your situation is quite simple. My recommendations:

- use the SFP port, inserting a suitable transceiver

- you will use the SFP port as your new WAN port. As port names are just a label and have no functional differences (except the mgmt ports), there are no obstacles. You may (for convenience) create a zone named 'wan' and assign the SFP port to it. This way, your policies will be more legible.

Ede

"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
Ede"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
MarcusI