Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Silver
New Contributor

Asic-Offload

Dear All,

Anyone can tell me what is mean by the command set auto-asic-offload disable. In which situation we can use this command and how it can impact a production environment if we are using this command.

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Paul_S
Contributor

Silver wrote:

Dear All,

Anyone can tell me what is mean by the command set auto-asic-offload disable. In which situation we can use this command and how it can impact a production environment if we are using this command.

Thanks

I am not an expert on this topic, but setting that value to disable would seem to tell your fortigate unit to use the main general purpose CPU for all processing instead of using the dedicated network processor ASIC. See the FortiOS Handbook 5.2 section titled "Network processors" for more info on that topic.

reasons to do this are not very many. I have seen at least one time where a bug or security vulnerability was identified and the workaround until a new firmware was released, was to disable use of the network processor.

The impact of disabling the NP is reduced performance.

FG200D 5.6.5 (HA) - primary [size="1"]FWF50B' s 4.3.x, FG60D's 5.2.x, FG60E's 5.4.x                   [Did my post help you? Please rate my post.][/size] FAZ-VM 5.6.5  |  Fortimail 5.3.11 Network+, Security+

FG200D 5.6.5 (HA) - primary [size="1"]FWF50B' s 4.3.x, FG60D's 5.2.x, FG60E's 5.4.x [Did my post help you? Please rate my post.][/size] FAZ-VM 5.6.5 | Fortimail 5.3.11 Network+, Security+
dstgroup

I just got this question myself and got it answered from a Fortinet cookbook.

I just wanted to let anyone seeing this that the answer is wrong.

It's the other way around:

When auto-asic-offload is set to disable in the firewall policy, traffic is not offloaded and the NPU hosting counter is ticked.