Skip to main content
AlexFeren
New Member
September 2, 2015
Question

Undo/revert/drop/ignore last changes in FortiManager

  • September 2, 2015
  • 8 replies
  • 33434 views

I am unable to find method to undo recently made configuration/Policy changes that haven't yet been installed (on target device/VDOM).

A change-of-mind scenario, if you will.

In other words, I want the changes shown in "Configuration and Installation Status"->"Device Settings Status" to be reverted from "Modified" back to "UnModified" and "Installation Preview" to show no changes.

How can I do that?

    8 replies

    scao_FTNT
    Staff
    Staff
    September 3, 2015

    1. for device db change    -- if not yet installed, you can do retrieve, retrieve can change back to last time installed config and also update device config status to sync, but it will change package status to unknown    -- or you can revert to any previous revision from revision history page, and for device level, FMG will auto generated new revision for each retrieve, install or auto update (but device config status will not back to unmodified and will still shows modified) 2. for policy db change    -- if not yet installed, you can try re-import to import last time installed policy changes (from device db), but this normally only for 1 package 1 device case (package status will be imported)    -- or you also try ADOM revision function, but this needs you to often save revision when you have changes or when do package install and if want to revert back, you can choose restore which revision config also, I may also suggest you to try FMG workspace/workflow function which FMG will have a cache db for changes and needs a  "Save" (workflow even needs approval), thus you can discard (not saved config) to back to previously saved db and also to previous status    -- config sys global - set workspace-mode    -- this is fully supported for policy and template db, but for device db, cache db only supported for workspace + ADOM normal mode, for other case, device db changes are directly saved

    Thanks

     

    Simon

    AlexFeren
    AlexFerenAuthor
    New Member
    September 4, 2015

    scao_FTNT wrote:

    1. for device db change   -- if not yet installed, you can do retrieve, ... 2. for policy db change   -- if not yet installed, you can try re-import to import ...

    Hi Simon,

    thank you for detailed answers.

     

    Retrieving or importing is not the answer I seek - the importance of FortiManager is for it to act as a definitive device and policy repository and not rely on what is on the device - which at any time, may come to contain anything.

     

    (Rhetorically,) which software available in 2015 does not have an undo?

     

    I would urge Fortinet to implement an 'Revert to last' function in 'Policy & Objects' and a (perhaps) a virtual revision in 'Device Manager' device Dashboard (containing all changes subsequent since Install, which I can Revert from in 'Revision History').

    R's, Alex

    scao_FTNT
    Staff
    Staff
    September 4, 2015

    but how about workspace/workflow function I suggested?

     

    Thanks

     

    Simon

    AlexFeren
    AlexFerenAuthor
    New Member
    September 9, 2015

    scao_FTNT wrote:

    but how about workspace/workflow function I suggested?

    I appreciate the advice. Currently, system global's workspace-mode is "normal" but workflow is not a consideration for us.

    scao_FTNT
    Staff
    Staff
    September 9, 2015

    normally, if this is no ADOM lock (workspace), and when there has multiple users working on the ADOM for config db change, and change is immediately saved, if system undo something, this may impact other users

     

    so that is why you may need enable ADOM lock function, then only 1 user is working on the db at 1 time and he can decide if save or discard for a config change

     

    but if config change has been saved, then you may have to back to my previous note suggestion for config revert based on revisions

     

    Thanks

     

    Simon

    AlexFeren
    AlexFerenAuthor
    New Member
    September 9, 2015

    scao_FTNT wrote:

    so that is why you may need enable ADOM lock function, then only 1 user is working on the db at 1 time and he can decide if save or discard for a config change

    I do have ADOM lock, and I do normally lock the ADOM before modifying.

    but if config change has been saved, then you may have to back to my previous note suggestion for config revert based on revisions

    But I have not talked about (Policy Package) SAVE, I need to undo/revert/drop/ignore last changes that have not yet been saved. I cannot do that - that is the issue.

    R's, Alex

    scao_FTNT
    Staff
    Staff
    September 9, 2015

    if you logout without save, will see a warning popup with "Discard" option, see attached pic

     

    Thanks

     

    Simon

    AlexFeren
    AlexFerenAuthor
    New Member
    September 9, 2015

    scao_FTNT wrote:
    if you logout without save, will see a warning popup with "Discard" option, see attached pic
    Brilliant! Thank you.

    Since you obviously have the function (triggered by DISCARD option), why not allow this option without the logout in next revision of FortiManager?

    Thought Leadership Security Summit. Outpace New Threats with AI - enhanced defense. Tuesday, Septmeber 15, 8:30 AM - 2:30 PM PT. The Golf Club at Newcastle, WA.
    Fortinet Flag the Hack. Wednesday, August 26, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM ET, COSM, Atlanta, GA.