Technical Tip: Determine why multiple hosts/adapters were deleted from database
Description
Multiple hosts or adapters destroyed, forcing devices to have to be re-registered. Host was registered to a User.
This behavior can occur if a User record is deleted from the database, and the appliance is configured to remove all associated hosts from a User record. To verify configuration, navigate to System > Settings > Aging - Users/Hosts.
This behavior can occur if a User record is deleted from the database, and the appliance is configured to remove all associated hosts from a User record. To verify configuration, navigate to System > Settings > Aging - Users/Hosts.
If "Delete hosts registered to user upon expiration" option is selected, all hosts associated with a user are removed when the user ages out of the database.
Solution
Determine why a User or Host record was removed. Possible causes:
1. Manual deletion of record. The Admin Auditing Log can provide information as to when the record was deleted and by which Admin user.
a. Navigate to Logs > Admin Auditing.
b. Select Add Filter > Type.
c. Select from drop-down User.
d. Select Add Filter > Action
e. Select from drop-down Delete.
f. Click Update.
2. User record aged due to expiration or inactivity.
a. Navigate to Logs > Events.
b. Select Add Filter > Event.
c. Select from drop-down User Aged Out or Host Aged Out.
d. Click Update.
3. User record removed from LDAP server.
a. Navigate to Logs > Events.
b. Select Add Filter > Event.
c. Select from drop-down Users Removed From Directory.
d. Click Update.
If User record was removed from LDAP server, it's possible the record was also removed from Network Sentry (if configured to do so). Verify the configuration:
a. Navigate to System > Settings > LDAP.Contact Support if further assistance is required.
b. Click on the Directory and click Modify.
c. Select Additional Configuration to expand.
d. If Remove Users deleted from the Directory is checked, upon directory sync, any User record that is in Network Sentry's database but not in the Directory will be deleted.
