Skip to main content
slautenschlager
Staff
Staff
May 24, 2016

Technical Tip: How to save and restore configuration changes using revisions

  • May 24, 2016
  • 0 replies
  • 27465 views

Description


This article describes how to create configuration revision and enable automatic backup on logout.

 

Scope


FortiGate


Solution


A useful feature of the FortiGate is to save and revert any configuration change.

Find the 'Configuration Revisions' option in the top-right drop-down menu on the logged in administrator:


 
When the FortiGate configuration has been modified, it is possible now to save the changes into a revision:
 
 
 
Afterwards, compare which changes have been made when marking two revisions and use the Diff Option:
 
 
It is also possible to see and revert to any saved revision from the past.

These will also be available after performing a factory reset, but a backup is necessary as well.
 
CLI command to find Revision ID: 
 

# execute revision list config

 

Once the ID is found, use the following command to load the old revision:

 

# execute restore config flash <Revision_ID>

 
A useful addition to this is to automate a revision backup after every logout, so it is possible to easily revert any unwanted changes.
 
This option is configurable from CLI:
 
# config system global
    set revision-backup-on-logout enable
end

 

Thought Leadership Security Summit. Outpace New Threats with AI - enhanced defense. Tuesday, Septmeber 15, 8:30 AM - 2:30 PM PT. The Golf Club at Newcastle, WA.
Virtual event | September 2026. SASE summit. The age of autonomous trust. Register here!